My raspberry-sized miracle is 2 months old!

Standard

I’ve given myself 1 more month to break the news to my boss that I’m having a baby. Won’t pretend I’m not nervous. This means I’ve got 1 more month to a) prove myself b) revel in my pregnancy without worrying! It’s amazing how quickly this is going. To think I’m nearly 1/4 of the way through is incredible really – I can definitely thank my job for keeping me distracted.

So 8 weeks in, where are we at with the pregnancy? Here are the highlights:

8 week old foetus

8 week old foetus

Baby is now the size of a raspberry (about 18 mm (3/4 inch) in length) and is growing at a rate of about a millimeter every day – 10,000 times bigger than the size of the fertilised egg.

Baby is busy moving his or her little arms, legs, and slightly webbed fingers and toes as their muscles and nerves start to function more efficiently

Upper and lower limbs all show recognizable elbow and knee joints and the lower limb bones are starting to ossify

Baby is finally starting to take on some very distinct human features; nostrils, external ears and eyes are now visible under a thin membrane of skin. The mouth has lips and a tongue and, amazingly, tooth buds have already formed. The eye colour they’ll have at birth is just starting to show.

Right now, baby’s head is disproportionately larger than the rest of the body making up almost half of little one’s height and weight. This is due to the rapidly growing brain which now has two distinct hemispheres

And mummy?

Emotional! I cry at everything – 5 times in the town centre today! I can’t remember the last time I really smiled and giggled as I’m so moody – Craig jokes I’ve had a sense of humour failure. He’s also managing most of the household tasks at the moment where I’m so tired. My boobs are also now a staggering J cup so I’m looking a little top-heavy.

Other than this – I feel great. It’s a strange sensation as I feel fine, but outwardly I suspect I’m difficult to live with. Going to do something special with Craig in the week next week. Not sure what yet but he deserves something nice. I’m hoping this will all get easier as I get used to working again and the 2nd trimester kicks in. It’s both of our first pregnancy so I want us both to enjoy it.

So this post is dedicated to the man I love, and our beautiful baby to be. You guys are the most important people ever xxx

My man, your daddy xx

My man, your daddy xx

2 responses »

  1. Hi Gemma and Craig
    I am enjoying reading your blog. Isn’t modern technology wonderful to be able to see the progress of a baby. Would you both like to come round for dinner on Wednesday. We are having Sky for the night so it would be good if you can see her again. She is a little on the shy side but I am sure you will win her round.

    Love Mum and Lynne

Leave a Reply

