9 weeks old! 6 days ago (whoops)!

Standard

I’ve been so unbelievably tired – I nearly missed this update! In fact, tomorrow we’ll be at 10 weeks – 1/4 of the way into the pregnancy. It’s been a busy few days for baby, and a busy few days for mummy too. I am officially huge. My tummy is tight and hard, and my clothes are ridiculously tight. I’m glad I’m breaking the news to work soon as I’m not sure I can hide it too much longer. Craig finds it amusing that I’ve grown so much and has the audacity to say I’m just ‘filling out’. I won’t deny that baby + tiredness = virtually no exercise, but I know the bump is all baby. The books also state I should be gaining between 1 lb and 2 lbs a week at this stage – sounds more than right to me!

Morning sickness comes and goes but it’s not debilitating so I’m coping just fine. I do get nauseous at work though and if I get up from my desk too fast I feel a pulling sensation in my abdomen. I’m fairly energetic throughout the day but fall to bits in the evening. From 7pm my eyes are drooping and I have to lie down. I’ve been making the most of my weekend and napping as much as possible. This seems to help my energy levels throughout the week.

I’ve also been hoarding! Baby now has a few cute baby grows, hats and shoes!!! My doppler has also arrived in preparation for my second trimester. This will allow me to listen to baby’s heartbeat and post a recording onto the blog. I can’t wait until his or her heartbeat is strong enough to hear!

So what’s new with baby…?

  • Baby is now the size of a green olive (around 30 mm (1.2 inches) in length)
  • Baby’s digestive system is developing (aswell as the muscular diaphragm that allows baby to breathe and hiccup).
  • With basic physical structures in place and increasingly distinct facial features baby is starting to look like the beautiful baby we’ll all meet in a few months time
  • This week the irises of baby’s little eyes can function, but the eyelids still remain fused shut. They’ll stay shut until about 26 weeks of pregnancy when baby is able to cope with changes in light inside my tummy
  • External ears are formed and the inner ears are now filled with fluid. This means baby is already developing a sense of balance ready for all the somersaults in a few months time!
  • Tiny milk teeth are just starting to form, but won’t emerge from baby’s gums until they’re about six months old
  • Oh and baby now has a tongue!

Here’s a mug shot of what our gorgeous little one looks like today! As you can see, the fingers and toes are much longer and more developed, and the umbilical cord is thinning out. Some truly amazing developments in just one week…

9 weeks old - look at the arms and legs!

9 weeks old - look at the arms and legs!

2 responses »

  1. Looking forward to seeing you both on Sunday. Still feeling a bit sick try some ginger nut biscuits, ginger is good for sickness. Terry asked for a photo of you both maybe you could bring one or send it to my e-mail and I can print it off, thanks.
    Love Lynne

Leave a Reply

