And we’re in to double figures! 10 weeks!

Standard

So in just a few days, we’ll be into week 11. I can’t believe how fast this pregnancy is progressing! Here’s the latest from inside my tummy…

Baby is the size of a walnut (27mm to 35mm) and weighs a massive 4 grams!

So baby’s heart is now fully formed and beating far faster than mine. I’ve been discussing old wives tales recently with other mummy’s on Facebook, and someone stated that girl baby’s heartbeats are supposed to be a teeny bit faster than boy baby’s. The general consensus from my Facebook friends seems to be that this is utter rubbish – but I’m hopeful it works. At our next scan, I’ll be asking if the heartbeat sounds fast to the technician. That’s if I haven’t already fainted in shock from finding out I’m carrying multiples. I just can’t wait to know what I’m carrying. I know some people love the surprise but I’m desperate to know.

The cartilage in baby’s skeleton is starting to ossify (turn into bone). I suspect this is a particularly crucial time then, and why I’m still considered to be in the danger zone. I’ve been a good girl taking my folic and probiotic yoghurt so hopefully the extra calcium is helping with this. As taste buds are also starting to develop on the tongue, hopefully baby is enjoying my choices. As my Craig is the world’ greatest cook, I fail to see how he or she isn’t rubbing their little tummy every night.

Mummy's eyes

Mummy's eyes

He or she also now the eye colour they’ll have at birth – this one stumped me a little as I thought all babies were born with blue eyes. As both my parents have blue eyes and Craig’s mum and dad’s are slightly different from one another – I’m thinking my genes will be dominant here. My eyes are my favourite feature so I’m really hopeful that baby will take after me. With everything else (height, hair, skin tone etc) baby will be better off with a healthy dose of Craig. Unfortunately both Craig and I have sticky outty ears so baby will be stuck with these – these are also now fully formed by the way.

Baby’s limbs are starting to stretch out in front of them too, rather than curling across the tummy. They bend at the elbows and knees, too giving baby a bigger range of movement. I’ve heard it’ll be some time before I feel any kicks and somersaults which is a little frustrating. I can’t imagine anything more lovely than feeling baby boogie whilst I’m at my desk at work!

So that’s the low-down on my gorgeous bump! I’m doing really well – already in maternity clothes so a little on the chubby side but most of the sickness has subsided. I’m still sleeping fine and I’m not too stressed at work. Baby is well insulated with plenty of fluid to protect their tiny body – the weight is sending me to the loo approximately 30 times a day!

That’s all from me today – got some ideas for some interesting posts over the next few days so keep your eyes peeled for more from us this week… lots of love everyone xxxxxxxxxxxx

10 week old embryo

10 week old embryo

 

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

