Week 11… What a week!

Standard

In 3 hours 7 minutes I’ll be 12 weeks into my pregnancy so this one is very late coming!!! I’m also wayyyy too excited about the scan to concentrate on this post so apologies if it’s a little ‘bulleted’.

Baby is now about the size of a small lime, about 1.5 inches (35mm). It is almost fully formed and is weighing in at 8 grams

11 week old embryo
11 week old embryo

The webbing between fingers and toes has disappeared and tiny tooth buds are forming. The senses are rapidly developing and baby can now feel. This is the beginning of quite an active phase for baby who will be somersaulting in copious amounts of amniotic fluid. Baby enjoys wriggling, kicking, and stretching and these small movements help to strengthen the developing muscles and bones.

These movements are also becoming increasingly sophisticated – baby can punch and arch its body, flex its fingers, form a fist and wrinkle its forehead (aw!). It can also suck and swallow and is able to move freely. The intestines are already able to process the liquid that the baby is swallowing. The kidneys are producing urine and baby is swallowing amniotic fluid and wee’ing regularly (great…). This is important because it helps to regulate the amount of amniotic fluid in my womb.

Baby is starting to develop hair, irises, fingernails and toenails. Although its head is still nearly the same size as its body, head growth begins to slow. The brain has become more complicated and all the areas you would normally find in a newborn’s brain are present.

Finally, the diaphragm is forming so baby will hiccup regularly.

As for mummy….

Well I will soon be entering the second trimester of pregnancy and it’s recommended I now take time to concentrate on interacting with baby. Some baby sites insist that I think “happy thoughts” because baby can now sense my mood and will react to it. Hopefully this will be possible now as Craig and I are through the worst of it and my irrational moodiness seems to have lifted. If I’m honest, I wasn’t so keen on the first trimester as I felt a little bit out of control. I’d regularly cry and sulk and seemed to pick fights all the time. Even though it wasn’t my intention, I was difficult to talk to and pushed Craig away constantly. This may have been, in part, due to starting a new job.

Speaking of work – I’ve finally told Laura (my boss) – she gave me a massive cuddle and promised all the time off I needed. I have a review with my MD on Thursday so expect more on this over the next few days. I feel really positive though, like a big weight has lifted. Even though I’m not planning on taking lots of maternity leave, I feel confident they’ll respect my decisions and try to support me as best they can – I can’t ask for any  more than this and I’m really pleased.

One more sleep until the first scan… Craig has the afternoon off and so do I (just in case we get a little weepy). I literally CAN NOT WAIT so I’m off to bed so it comes around sooner.

Goodnight everyone xxx

Leave a Reply

