Pre-holiday build up!

Standard

So we’re off to Portugal in just over two weeks. One of daddy’s closest mates is getting married out there so we’re flying out to be part of their big day. Given the flights are expensive and the year is drawing to a close, we decided to make this our family holiday and rent an apartment for a week. To help us out, nanny and granddad are coming along too to join in the fun.

Daddy took on the project of planning our holiday a few months ago. Now daddy LOVES a good project and is borderline obsessed about research. We started with a brief to find an all-inclusive hotel deal in Vilamoura, and have ended up with something totally different and it looks amazing! The truth is, mummy gave daddy an exhaustive list of requirements and daddy set to work viewing accommodation online.

  • Somewhere quiet
  • Near the beach but not on top of it
  • Near a supermarket for those late milk (and wine) dashes
  • Within walking distance of restaurants and bars so we can nip out when nanny and granddad are kind enough to look after you
  • A proper double bed and not two twins pushed together (in at least one of the rooms)
  • A balcony so we could still make the most of the heat on the long evenings in when you’re asleep
  • A private swimming pool with a separate childs pool
  • All mod con’s; dishwasher, microwave, washing machine
  • Two separate bathrooms so nanny and granddad have their own space – must have a bath for you
  • Air conditioning

(And a few more ridiculous things like carpets in the living areas, patio doors in both bedrooms, a bbq area etc – just to give daddy a headache)

It quickly became apparent that a hotel wouldn’t suit us; I didn’t want a busy pool as I’m still a little self-conscious about my post birth tummy, and we wanted our own outdoor space. With nanny and granddad joining us, I was also conscious that the accommodation needed to suit all of us and we all needed our own space to relax and enjoy it. He must have viewed a thousand apartments on Owner’s Direct and HomeAway.co.uk has come up with this:

Cavalo Preto Beach Apartments – Quarteira

Apartments from the beach

Swimming Pool – there is a separate kids pool. This belongs exclusively to the apartments.

Master bedroom – doors to balcony and gardens (we’re on the ground floor)

All mod cons – further patio doors to outside

Second bedroom – more doors to outside

Just one of the bathrooms – the other is equally bright with a shower

Birds eye view to the sandy beach

So how excited am I???! I can’t wait to go and show you some more of the world on your first ever holiday.

My only hesitation has been about my body since having you. I’m very nervous about the pool as I know it’ll be hot and ordinarily I’d be in my skimpiest outfits. You’ve left me as a rather flabby size 14-16 and its going to take forever to get beach-body ready. I’ve had some serious tantrums over this and poor old daddy has been dragged around every clothes shop in Reading looking at maxi dresses and tankinis.

The truth is, I’m not supposed to look amazing – I’ve safely carried a little person in my tummy for 9 months and you’ve left your mark! I don’t have the luxury of celebrity personal trainers so was never going to get off unscathed. This body has to carry another 2 children yet if mummy and daddy are going to achieve our vision of the perfect family! I suppose there’s always some nifty air brushing of photos post-holiday… sigh.

So that’s it! You’re going to Portugal (Quarterio)!

4 responses »

  1. looks like the perfect place! Now don’t forget the swim nappies! Apartments are so much better for babies as you can put them down in one room and go and enjoy yourself in another! You can always take a baby monitor and eat outside too! Hope you all enjoy it x

    • Good idea abouty the baby monitor! I didn’t even think of that. I’ve been panicing about him being stolen as per the Madeline McCann incident. I know it’s sounds silly but it’s totally consumed me recently 😦

  2. Pingback: Model Behaviour – Autumnal Style for Dexter | My Mills Baby

Leave a comment